Vedic Astrology vs Western Astrology

Knowing what your future holds ahead is good sometimes, and the availability of online astrology apps and web services has made it easier to determine your astrological compatibilities and horoscope. 

If you are a believer in astrology, you would have already downloaded several apps to map your birth chart. But, did you know that all these apps are based on western astrology? Yes, most of these apps follow the western horoscope calculations. 

However, Western astrology is not the only type.  We are talking about Vedic astrology. So, what is Vedic astrology, and how does it differ from Western astrology? Read on to see…

The History of Vedic Astrology

Vedic Astrology is related to the Sanskrit word “Jyotisa”. The mention of Jyotisa first appeared in the Rigveda which is the most ancient scripture of the Indian society.  “Jyotisa” refers to a heavenly body.

With time, Vedic astrology has evolved a lot but it does carry the ancient traditions and along with it, several myths of the ancient Indian culture. For many, it is still a part of their lifestyle and people find it difficult to proceed without seeing their daily horoscope.

Vedic charts are used to finalize the “muhurta” or “the right time” for all sorts of auspicious occasions including marriage, engagement, opening ceremonies, etc.

Twelve Signs of Vedic Astrology

In total, there are 12 signs in Vedic astrology.  Even Western astrology represents 12 zodiac signs and the resemblance of all the characteristics are almost the same in both, however, the difference lies in the dates.  If you know your zodiac sign according to Western astrology you are going to be amused by what you find in the Vedic astrological chart. For instance, if you were an Aquarius, your daily Aquarius horoscope will vary in Vedic and western astrology. Take a look at how the Vedic zodiac signs follows:

  Zodiac  Vedic Name  Vedic Astrological Dates
AriesMashaApril 13 – May 14
TaurusVrishabhMarch 15 – June 14
GeminiMithunaJune 14 – July 14
CancerKarkaJuly 14 – August 15
LeoSimahnAugust 15 – September 15
VirgoKanyaSeptember 15 – October 15
LibraTulaOctober 15 – November 14
ScorpioVrischikaNovember 15 – December 15
SagittariusDhanushaDecember 15 – January 13
CapricornMakaraJanuary 14 – February 13
AquariusKumbhFebruary  13 – March 13
PiscesMeenaMarch 14 – April 14

The Origin of Western Astrology

The origin of western astrology dates back to the Mesopotamian era. At that time, there were deep studies of omen. For instance, the color of the sky, weather, and the movements of animals were taken into consideration.

Rather than planetary movements, these preliminary studies were more related to the moon and eclipses. By the time it was 1000 BCE, the astrological concepts were very popular in the Middle East. You can find some precise illustration of planets on the ceiling of New Kingdom Tombs in Egypt.

All these planets were especially linked to one of the gods and goddesses of Mesopotamia. As time passed, astrology was introduced to several other cultures too. And the Hebrews got to know the practice of astrology between 586-539 BC. It was the period of Babylon’s military conquest, which was finalized many years later.

Under the empire of Alexander, the practice of astrology thrived and spread throughout Egypt, Middle East, Asia, and then India. A Babylon priest moved to Greece and founded a school where Greeks could learn all about the basics of astrology. This became an opportunity to mix beliefs, knowledge, and philosophy. This harmonious mixture gave life to Hellenistic astrology.

It is the Hellenistic astrology that proved to be the ultimate foundation of modern Western astrology. Studies have found that it also has a strong bond with Vedic astrology.

As the time of Christ approached, the Romans and Greeks had already codified the zodiac signs. And that is the form of astrology that we recognise today.

Zodiac SignsWestern Astrological Dates
  Aries  March 21 – April 20
TaurusApril 21 – May 22
GeminiMay 22 – June 21
CancerJune 22 – July 22
LeoJuly 23 – August 23
VirgoAugust 22 – September 22
LibraSeptember 24 – October 23
ScorpioOctober 24 – November 24
SagittariusNovember 23 – December 21
CapricornDecember 22 – January 20
AquariusJanuary 21 – February 19
PiscesFebruary 20  – March 20

Comments are closed.